Best air purifier for allergies

Best Air Purifiers for Allergies

Disclosure: This page contains Amazon affiliate links. We earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices change, so check the current price on Amazon before you buy.

If you are shopping for an air purifier for allergies, start with the room size and the filter wording in the listing. The EPA says portable HEPA air cleaners have been found to improve one or more allergy or asthma symptoms in some studies, but not always by much and not for every symptom. This guide makes no medical claim; a doctor decides what your allergies need.

The quick answer: for a bedroom or small room, the Levoit Core 300-P and the Levoit Vital 100S-P list the same room coverage, 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour. For a large open room, the Levoit Vital 200S-P lists the highest smoke CADR in this set, 250 CFM. Read the coverage figure on each listing before you choose, because listings state different things.

How we chose and what the listings leave out

We read nine Amazon listings on 2026-10-17. We did not test any of these purifiers. The criteria are the ones a buyer can check on the listing: stated CADR, stated room coverage, filter wording, noise figure, and size. Where a listing gives no figure, the table says so.

  • CADR (clean air delivery rate) is stated for some models only. The Core 200S-P and the Vital 100S-P list room coverage but no CADR.
  • The listings do not state an allergy result. None of them makes a medical claim in this guide.
  • Noise is stated for seven of the nine models. The Honeywell HPA6000W and the PuroAir 240 do not state a decibel value.

Specs side by side (from the listings, checked 2026-10-17)

Model (ASIN) Stated coverage Stated CADR Stated noise Size and weight
Levoit Core300-P (B07VVK39F7) 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; 1,073 sq ft once per hour 143 CFM smoke, 153 CFM dust, 167 CFM pollen 24 dB in Sleep Mode 8.7 x 8.7 x 14.2 in; 7.9 lb
Levoit Core 200S-P (B08FJ678YK) 140 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour Not stated 27 dB (as low as) 8.07 x 8.07 x 4.96 in; 6.6 lb
Levoit Vital 200S-P (B0BGPF71Q6) Up to 1,875 sq ft (title) 250 CFM smoke, 254 CFM dust, 289 CFM pollen 27 dB (title) 14.96 x 8.66 x 19.69 in; 13.2 lb
Levoit Core 400S-P (B08R794ZMX) Up to 1,733 sq ft, once per hour 231 CFM smoke, 240 CFM dust, 259 CFM pollen 24 dB (as low as) 10.79 x 10.79 x 20.43 in; 12.79 lb
Levoit Eleva 300X (B0GWLVKN9T) Up to 1,200 sq ft (title) 161 CFM 20 dB in Sleep Mode 9.4 x 9.4 x 15.1 in; 7.7 lb
Levoit Vital 100S-P (B0BNDM2RNG) 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; 1,073 sq ft once per hour Not stated 25 dB (as low as) 12.64 x 6.3 x 16.02 in; 8.6 lb
Blueair Blue 511i Max (B08KPJ76RR) 237 sq ft in about 12.5 minutes; up to 1,138 sq ft in one hour Not stated 19 dB (as quietly as) 10.6 x 10.6 x 18.9 in; 2.84 lb
Honeywell Allergen Plus HPA6000W (B0FKD64Y95) 398 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour (AHAM Verifide, bullet); 1,928 sq ft in one hour (title) Not stated Not stated 11.22 x 11.22 x 25.24 in; 13.33 lb
PuroAir 240 (B0998FWTHP) Up to 1,000 sq ft in one hour Not stated Not stated 10.63 x 10.63 x 28 in; 7.3 lb

Worked example: matching CADR to a 300 sq ft room

For example, take a 300 sq ft bedroom. The EPA sizing chart gives a minimum CADR of 195 cfm for 300 sq ft, assuming an 8-foot ceiling. Compare that to the smoke CADR on each listing. The Levoit Core300-P lists 143 CFM, below the 195 cfm minimum. The Levoit Eleva 300X lists 161 CFM, also below it. The Levoit Core 400S-P lists 231 CFM and the Levoit Vital 200S-P lists 250 CFM, both above it. The Levoit Core 200S-P and the Levoit Vital 100S-P list no CADR, so this check cannot be made for them from the listing.

The EPA chart is for estimation. A ceiling above 8 feet means you should look for a unit sized for a larger area.

Conflicting figures on the listings

Two listings give room figures that do not agree. The Honeywell HPA6000W bullet gives 398 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour, while its title gives 1,928 sq ft in one hour. A review article we read gives the Levoit Core 400S a room figure of 403 sq ft, while the Amazon listing states up to 1,733 sq ft once per hour. We show both figures and do not pick one. The Blueair listing also reads “237 csq ft”, and we quote it as written.

The nine purifiers

1. Levoit Core300-P (B07VVK39F7): best for a bedroom with stated CADR

  • Best for: a bedroom or small room where you want CADR figures for smoke, dust and pollen in one listing.
  • Skip if: the room is over 1,073 sq ft, the listing’s once-per-hour figure, or you need a stated filter life (not on the listing).
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: 143 CFM smoke, 153 CFM dust, 167 CFM pollen (AHAM VERIFIDE); 24 dB Sleep Mode; 99.97% for 0.1 to 0.3 micron particles per the listing; timer 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours; 120 V, US use only; 8.7 x 8.7 x 14.2 in; 7.9 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Levoit Core 200S-P (B08FJ678YK): best for a small bedroom with voice control

  • Best for: a small bedroom or desk corner, and buyers who want Alexa or Google Assistant control.
  • Skip if: the room is over 140 sq ft, the listing’s coverage figure, or you need a CADR number, which the listing does not state.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model number Core 200S (bullets say Core 200S-P); 140 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; as low as 27 dB; nylon pre-filter and activated carbon filter; main filter removes 99.97% of dust, pollen and dander at 0.1 to 0.3 microns; 8.07 x 8.07 x 4.96 in; 6.6 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Levoit Vital 200S-P (B0BGPF71Q6): best for a large open room

  • Best for: a large open-plan space where the listing’s room figure of up to 1,875 sq ft matters.
  • Skip if: you need a compact footprint. The listing is 14.96 x 8.66 x 19.69 in and 13.2 lb.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model LAP-V201S-WUS; up to 1,875 sq ft (title); CADR 250 CFM smoke, 254 CFM dust, 289 CFM pollen (AHAM VERIFIDE); 27 dB in the title. The listing describes it as designed for allergy groups. That is a listing claim, not a result from this guide.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Levoit Core 400S-P (B08R794ZMX): best for a large room with a PM2.5 readout

  • Best for: a large room where you want a real-time PM2.5 reading on the unit.
  • Skip if: the room is small. The listing is 10.79 x 10.79 x 20.43 in and 12.79 lb. Note the conflicting 403 sq ft figure from a review article, shown above.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model Core 400S; up to 1,733 sq ft, refreshed once per hour; CADR 231 CFM smoke, 240 CFM dust, 259 CFM pollen (AHAM VERIFIED); as low as 24 dB in Sleep Mode; 3-stage filter with the main filter capturing 99.97% down to 0.3 micron; AirSight Plus laser dust sensor.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Levoit Eleva 300X (B0GWLVKN9T): best where a long filter life is stated

  • Best for: a bedroom where the listing’s 2-year filter life and ENERGY STAR 3.0 status matter.
  • Skip if: the room is over 1,200 sq ft (title figure), or you need the highest CADR in this set.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model LAP-C341S-WUSZ; up to 1,200 sq ft (title); CADR 161 CFM; 20 dB in Sleep Mode; 2-year filter life (footnote: GB/T 18801 test to a 50 percent CADR decline, 12 hours a day on MAX); 7.5 W average; 9.4 x 9.4 x 15.1 in; 7.7 lb; PM1.0, PM2.5 and PM10 sensor.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Levoit Vital 100S-P (B0BNDM2RNG): best for pets with a washable pre-filter

  • Best for: a bedroom with a pet, where you want a Pet Mode and a washable pre-filter.
  • Skip if: you need a stated CADR number. The listing gives room coverage only.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model Vital 100S-P; 222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour; up to 1,073 sq ft once per hour; as low as 25 dB in Sleep Mode; 99.97% for 0.1 to 0.3 micron particles per the listing; 12.64 x 6.3 x 16.02 in; 8.6 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. Blueair Blue 511i Max (B08KPJ76RR): best for a quiet, compact room with app control

  • Best for: a compact room where you want app control, and the lowest noise figure stated in this set.
  • Skip if: the room is over 1,138 sq ft, the listing’s one-hour figure.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: 237 sq ft in about 12.5 minutes (listing text, “csq ft” as written); up to 1,138 sq ft in one hour; as quietly as 19 dB; HEPASilent filtration, 99.97% of particles down to 0.1 micron; WiFi and the Blueair app; 10.6 x 10.6 x 18.9 in; 2.84 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

8. Honeywell Allergen Plus HPA6000W (B0FKD64Y95): best for a fan and purifier in one unit

  • Best for: a room where you want a swivel fan and a purifier in one unit, with three fan positions.
  • Skip if: you need a decibel figure (not stated) or a small footprint. The listing is 11.22 x 11.22 x 25.24 in and 13.33 lb.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model HPA6000W; 398 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour (AHAM Verifide, bullet); 1,928 sq ft in one hour (title); certified HEPA removes up to 99.97% of allergens; pre-filter and carbon filter; sleep mode with dimmed lights; timers 2, 4 and 8 hours.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

9. PuroAir 240 (B0998FWTHP): best for a stated warranty and certifications

  • Best for: buyers who want the listed certifications (CARB, ETL, ISO, UL) and a 2-year warranty.
  • Skip if: you need a decibel figure, which the listing does not state, or a room over 1,000 sq ft.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: model PuroAir 240; up to 1,000 sq ft in one hour; 3-layer filter (pre-filter, HEPA, activated carbon) that the listing says filters up to 99.9% of pollutants; smart particle sensor; 2-year warranty; 10.63 x 10.63 x 28 in; 7.3 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying on the title alone. The title room figure and the bullet room figure can differ, as the Honeywell listing shows.
  • Reading a decibel figure as a promise. Listing figures are the maker’s figures, and not every listing says which fan speed it measures.
  • Assuming any purifier treats a medical condition. The EPA guide says the effect on symptoms varies.
  • Skipping the carbon filter if odors matter to you. The EPA says activated carbon filters can be effective for gases, provided the filter holds a large amount of material.

Who should skip buying

Skip this list if your main question is medical. A purifier does not replace treatment, and the EPA says studies show improvement in one or more symptoms, not all of them. If your room is much larger than the listed coverage, or if you have a high ceiling, a single compact unit will not do the job; check the sizing chart first.

What the EPA guide says

The US EPA guide on air cleaners was opened on 2026-10-17 and shows “Last updated on October 1, 2026”. It says CADR “is for particles only”, and it answers the allergy question with “Possibly”, noting studies with portable HEPA air cleaners found improvements in one or more symptoms. Source: US EPA, Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home.

Frequently asked questions

Does an air purifier help with allergies?

The EPA says portable HEPA air cleaners have been found to improve one or more allergy or asthma symptoms in some studies. It also says the gains are not always major and do not show improvement in every symptom. This guide makes no medical claim.

Which number should I check first?

Check the room size against the CADR for smoke, the smallest particle figure the listing states. The EPA sizing chart gives 195 cfm for a 300 sq ft room with an 8-foot ceiling. Where a listing gives no CADR, check its room coverage figure instead.

Do all of these models state a CADR?

No. The Levoit Core 200S-P, the Levoit Vital 100S-P and the Blueair Blue 511i Max do not state a CADR on the listing. The Honeywell listing gives a coverage figure that is not a CADR.

Is any model here a medical device?

No. This guide does not describe any model as a medical device or as treatment. Ask a doctor about your allergies.

Should I check the price?

Yes. This page does not show prices. Check the current price on Amazon before you buy.

Related drafts in this batch (not live)

No post on this site is live yet, so there are no live internal links. These are the other drafts in this batch, linked by path. They are not published:

  • best-air-purifier-for-pet-hair (draft, not live)
  • best-air-purifier-for-bedroom (draft, not live)
  • quietest-air-purifier-for-sleeping (draft, not live)
  • best-air-purifier-for-small-room (draft, not live)

Similar Posts