Best air purifier for smoke

Best Air Purifiers for Smoke and Wildfire

Disclosure: This page contains Amazon affiliate links. We earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices change, so check the current price on Amazon before you buy.

The US EPA says wildfire smoke is a mixture of gases and fine particles, and that portable air cleaners can remove smoke particles from the air. For a smoke event the listing figures that matter most are a CADR stated for smoke and a coverage figure that fits your room. This guide sorts eight listings by exactly that.

The quick answer: three Levoit listings state a smoke CADR. The Vital 200S-P lists 250 CFM, the Core 400S-P lists 231 CFM and the Core300-P lists 143 CFM. The two Medify listings state a CADR of 406 and 598 without naming the pollutant, and the Blueair and Coway listings state no CADR.

How we chose and what the listings leave out

We read eight Amazon listings on 2026-10-17 and did not test any of them. Each one names smoke or wildfire smoke in its title or bullets. We then ordered them by whether the listing gives a CADR for smoke, because the EPA guide uses the smoke CADR as the measure for the smallest particles.

  • A CADR is a rating for particles. Only the three Levoit listings label one of their figures as smoke. The Medify MA-40 and MA-50 give one CADR number each and the listings do not say which pollutant it refers to.
  • The Blueair and Coway listings name smoke in their text but state no CADR in the bullets we read.
  • Coverage figures use different time bases (12.5 minutes, 30 minutes, 60 minutes, once per hour, or none), so they are shown with their basis and not ranked against each other.
  • Noise is stated for only some models, and the figures come from different fan settings.

Specs side by side (from the listings, checked 2026-10-17)

Model (ASIN) CADR stated Stated coverage Filter detail from the listing Certifications and filter life stated Size and weight
Levoit Vital 200S-P (B0BGPF71Q6) Smoke 250 CFM, dust 254, pollen 289 (AHAM VERIFIDE) Up to 1,875 sq ft; time basis not stated No HEPA percentage and no carbon filter named in the bullets AHAM VERIFIDE; filter life not stated 14.96 x 8.66 x 19.69 in; 13.2 lb
Levoit Core 400S-P (B08R794ZMX) Smoke 231 CFM, dust 240, pollen 259 (AHAM verified) 1,733 sq ft once per hour Main filter 99.97 percent down to 0.3 micron; activated carbon filter “adsorbs smoke and odors” AHAM verified; filter life not stated 10.79 x 10.79 x 20.43 in; 12.79 lb
Levoit Core300-P (B07VVK39F7) Smoke 143 CFM, dust 153, pollen 167 (AHAM VERIFIDE) 222 sq ft at 4.8 times per hour; 1,073 sq ft once per hour 99.97 percent for 0.1 to 0.3 micron particulates; no carbon filter named AHAM verified, FCC, ETL, CARB compliant 8.7 x 8.7 x 14.2 in; 7.9 lb
Medify MA-50 (B08S2Y6CTX) CADR 598; pollutant not stated 2,640 sq ft in one hour; 1,320 sq ft in 30 minutes HEPA H13; no carbon filter named CARB, ETL, Energy Star; filter lasts 2,500 hours or about 3-4 months 9.8 x 9.8 x 9.8 in; 5.76 ounces (as listed)
Medify MA-40 (B07LGDYV3C) CADR 406; pollutant not stated 1,793 sq ft in one hour; 896 sq ft in 30 minutes HEPA H13; no carbon filter named CARB and ETL; filter lasts 3,000 hours or about 6 months 25 in D x 24.5 in W x 13 in H (as listed); 15 lb
Blueair Blue 211i Max (B0BN2MGV5H) Not stated 674 sq ft in 12.5 minutes; 3,235 sq ft in one hour HEPASilent dual filtration; names wildfire smoke; no percentage given Not stated 14.4 x 14.4 x 22.7 in; 1.8 kg (as listed)
Blueair Blue 311i Max (B0BN2LZ9JH) Not stated 439 sq ft in 12.5 minutes; 2,107 sq ft in 1 hour HEPASilent, 99.97 percent down to 0.1 microns, including smoke Not stated; QuietMark noise 23 to 50 dB 12.5 x 12.5 x 19 in; 7.72 lb
Coway Mighty AP-1512HH (B01728NLRG) Not stated 1,748 sq ft in 60 minutes HEPA reduces 99.97 percent of 0.3 micron particles; deodorization filter; smoke named in the title only Not stated 9.6 x 16.8 x 18.3 in; 12.5 lb

Worked example: a 300 sq ft living room

For example, a living room that is 15 ft by 20 ft is 300 sq ft. The EPA sizing chart lists a minimum CADR of 195 cfm for 300 sq ft and 260 cfm for 400 sq ft, based on an 8-foot ceiling. The EPA guide also says that, to remove the smallest particles, you should pick a high CADR for tobacco smoke, which the Levoit listings label as smoke.

Set against that chart, the Levoit Vital 200S-P (smoke 250) and the Levoit Core 400S-P (smoke 231) are both above 195, so they clear the 300 sq ft row. The Levoit Core300-P lists smoke 143, which is above the 130 cfm row for 200 sq ft but below the 195 cfm row for 300 sq ft. None of the three reaches the 260 cfm needed for 400 sq ft. The Medify CADR figures of 406 and 598 would clear a 600 sq ft row (390 cfm) only if they are smoke figures, and the listings do not say. The Blueair and Coway listings cannot be placed on the chart at all, because they give no CADR.

Figures that conflict or look odd on the listings

  • The Medify MA-40 bullet calls the unit “ultra quiet” and gives a minimum of 46 dB and a maximum of 66 dB. The MA-50 gives 22 dB to 59 dB. We show both as written.
  • The Medify MA-50 lists a weight of 5.76 ounces and the MA-40 lists dimensions of 25 x 24.5 x 13 in. Both look inconsistent with a floor unit, so check them on the listing.
  • The Blueair Blue 211i Max lists 1.8 kg, while the 311i Max lists 7.72 lb. Treat the weight as unconfirmed.
  • The Levoit Vital 200S-P gives “up to 1875 sq ft” with no time basis in the bullets. The Core300-P gives both a 4.8-per-hour and a once-per-hour figure.

The eight purifiers

1. Levoit Vital 200S-P (B0BGPF71Q6): the highest smoke CADR on a listing here

  • Best for: a larger living area where you want the highest smoke CADR stated on any of these listings, 250 CFM.
  • Skip if: you need a stated filter efficiency, a carbon filter or a noise figure. The bullets give none of the three. The weight is 13.2 lb.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: CADR smoke 250 CFM, dust 254 CFM, pollen 289 CFM (AHAM VERIFIDE); large rooms up to 1875 sq ft (time basis not stated); an extra U-shaped air inlet described as trapping pet hair and odors; 14.96 x 8.66 x 19.69 in; 13.2 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Levoit Core 400S-P (B08R794ZMX): a smoke CADR plus an activated carbon stage

  • Best for: a room where you want a stated smoke CADR of 231 CFM together with an activated carbon filter for the gas side of smoke.
  • Skip if: the room is over 300 sq ft by the EPA chart, because 231 cfm is below the 260 cfm listed for 400 sq ft.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: CADR smoke 231 CFM, dust 240 CFM, pollen 259 CFM (AHAM verified); rooms up to 1,733 sq ft once per hour; main filter captures 99.97 percent down to 0.3 micron particles; activated carbon filter adsorbs smoke and odors; PM2.5 sensor with auto mode; VeSync app; HEPA Sleep Mode as low as 24 dB; 10.79 x 10.79 x 20.43 in; 12.79 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Levoit Core300-P (B07VVK39F7): the smallest unit with a smoke CADR and a CARB statement

  • Best for: a bedroom or office of about 130 to 195 sq ft by the EPA chart, where you also want a unit the listing says is CARB compliant.
  • Skip if: the room is 300 sq ft or more. Smoke CADR 143 CFM is below the 195 cfm listed for 300 sq ft.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: CADR smoke 143 CFM, dust 153 CFM, pollen 167 CFM (AHAM VERIFIDE); 222 sq ft room 4.8 times per hour and 1,073 sq ft room once per hour; 99.97 percent filtration for 0.1 to 0.3 micron particulates; 24 dB in Sleep Mode; AHAM verified, FCC certified, ETL listed, CARB compliant; 120 V; 8.7 x 8.7 x 14.2 in; 7.9 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Medify MA-50 (B08S2Y6CTX): the higher of the two Medify CADR figures

  • Best for: a large room where you want a CADR of 598 on the listing, a short filter-life figure to plan around and a 22 dB minimum noise.
  • Skip if: you need the CADR to be a smoke figure. The listing says “CADR 598” and does not name the pollutant.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: cleans up to 2,640 sq ft in one hour and 1,320 sq ft in 30 minutes (CADR 598); HEPA H13; four fan speeds; minimum 22 dB and maximum 59 dB; CARB, ETL and Energy Star; replacement filter (B08Y9CQ9B9) lasts 2,500 hours or about 3-4 months; lifetime warranty; 9.8 x 9.8 x 9.8 in; 5.76 ounces (as listed).
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Medify MA-40 (B07LGDYV3C): a CADR of 406 with a stated six-month filter life

  • Best for: a large room where you want a CADR of 406 on the listing and a replacement filter stated to last about 6 months.
  • Skip if: you need a quiet unit. The listing gives a minimum of 46 dB and a maximum of 66 dB. It also needs the CADR to be a smoke figure, which the listing does not say.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: cleans up to 1,793 sq ft in one hour and 896 sq ft in 30 minutes (CADR 406); HEPA H13, 99.9 percent of particles down to 0.1 microns per the listing; three fan speeds; 0 to 8 hour timer; sleep mode dims the panel; child lock; CARB and ETL; replacement filter (B07MTQFFNT) lasts 3,000 hours or about 6 months; 110 V; 15 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Blueair Blue 211i Max (B0BN2MGV5H): the largest stated one-hour coverage

  • Best for: a big open space where you want the biggest coverage figure on this list, 3,235 sq ft in one hour, and app control.
  • Skip if: you need a CADR, noise figure or filter percentage. The bullets give none. The listing also gives an asterisk after the coverage claim without footnote text.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: 674 sq ft in 12.5 minutes and 3,235 sq ft in one hour; HEPASilent dual filtration captures dust, pollen, wildfire smoke, pet hair, pet dander and mold particles; sensors adjust fan speed automatically; Blueair app tracks filter life; 14.4 in D x 14.4 in W x 22.7 in H; 1.8 kg (as listed).
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. Blueair Blue 311i Max (B0BN2LZ9JH): a mid-size Blueair with a stated filter percentage

  • Best for: a living room or office where you want a stated 99.97 percent figure down to 0.1 microns that includes smoke, and QuietMark noise of 23 to 50 dB.
  • Skip if: you need a CADR figure of any kind. The listing gives coverage only.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: 439 sq ft in 12.5 minutes and 2,107 sq ft in 1 hour; HEPASilent dual filtration captures 99.97 percent of airborne particles down to 0.1 microns, including dust, pollen, pet dander, mold particles and smoke; QuietMark-certified, 23 to 50 dB; app control and schedule; 12.5 x 12.5 x 19 in; 7.72 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

8. Coway Mighty AP-1512HH (B01728NLRG): smoke named in the title, with a deodorization filter

  • Best for: a room where you want a stated 1,748 sq ft in 60 minutes, a deodorization filter and a filter-change indicator.
  • Skip if: you need a smoke CADR. The listing states none, and smoke appears only in the title.
  • Listing specs, checked 2026-10-17: designed to clean spaces up to 1,748 sq ft in 60 minutes; washable pre-filter, deodorization filter, Bipolar Device and HEPA filter that reduces 99.97 percent of 0.3 micron particles; air quality indicator whose light can be turned off; 3 yr warranty in the title; 9.6 x 16.8 x 18.3 in; 12.5 lb.
  • View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing on “up to X sq ft” alone. The time bases differ between 12.5 minutes, 30 minutes, 60 minutes and once per hour, and the Vital 200S-P gives none.
  • Assuming a CADR number is a smoke number. The Medify listings give one CADR each and do not name the pollutant.
  • Ignoring ozone. The EPA wildfire page says to make sure the portable air cleaner does not produce ozone, and it points to the California Air Resources Board list. Among these listings only the Core300-P, MA-40 and MA-50 mention CARB.
  • Keeping filters past their usual change point in a smoky period. The EPA page says to keep extra filters on hand and to replace the filter in your air cleaner more often than the maker recommends during heavy smoke.
  • Running the unit on its lowest speed. The EPA guide says an air cleaner filters less air at a lower fan speed.

Who should skip buying

Skip this list if a wildfire is close to your home. The EPA page says that if an active fire is very close it may be best to evacuate, and that dense smoke can be nearly impossible to keep out of the indoor air. Follow local emergency alerts. A purifier is also the wrong tool if your room is far larger than every coverage figure here, since the EPA guide suggests more than one air cleaner for an area no single product serves.

What the EPA says

We opened two US EPA pages on 2026-10-17. The wildfire page shows “Last updated on September 2, 2026”. It says portable air cleaners and high-efficiency HVAC filters can remove smoke particles, that the unit should be the right size for the room and should not produce ozone, and that filters should be replaced more often during heavy smoke. The air cleaner guide shows “Last updated on October 1, 2026” and supplies the CADR sizing chart and the smoke CADR advice. Sources: US EPA, Wildfires and Indoor Air Quality and US EPA, Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home.

Frequently asked questions

Which listing states the highest smoke CADR?

The Levoit Vital 200S-P lists a smoke CADR of 250 CFM, ahead of the Levoit Core 400S-P at 231 CFM and the Levoit Core300-P at 143 CFM. The other five listings do not label a CADR as smoke.

What does a smoke CADR tell me?

The EPA guide says air cleaner packaging may show CADRs for tobacco smoke, dust and pollen, standing for small, medium and large particles. To remove small particles it says to pick a high CADR for tobacco smoke. The Levoit listings label that first figure as smoke.

Are the Medify CADR numbers smoke numbers?

The listings do not say. The MA-50 states CADR 598 and the MA-40 states CADR 406 without naming a pollutant, so they cannot be compared with the Levoit smoke figures.

Does any listing mention a filter for the gases in smoke?

The Levoit Core 400S-P names an activated carbon filter that adsorbs smoke and odors, and the Coway Mighty names a deodorization filter. The EPA wildfire page describes smoke as a mix of gases and fine particles. The other listings do not name a gas filter.

Should I change filters sooner during a smoky period?

The EPA wildfire page says to keep extra filters on hand and to plan to replace the filter in your air cleaner or HVAC system more often than the maker recommends during periods of heavy smoke.

How do I check whether a room is too big for a model?

Multiply the room length by the width to get square feet, then compare the EPA chart value for that area with the CADR on the listing. In the worked example a 300 sq ft room needs 195 cfm, which the Vital 200S-P and Core 400S-P smoke figures reach and the Core300-P does not.

Similar Posts